Golf-FAQ.com

what if a fan interferes with the ball in golf

by Mrs. Jenifer Ebert Published 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago
image

If your ball is moved by an outside influence, such as an animal or a spectator, there is no penalty to anyone and the ball must be replaced. If your ball is moved by a natural force, such as wind, water, or gravity, you will usually play the ball from its new location without penalty.

Full Answer

Is it interference if the fan touches the ball?

Close call if the fan touches the ball as they are right on the boundary. Image 3: Ball ends up being caught inside the boundary, had the fan reached over and touched the ball, or the player, it would have resulted in interference.

What are the rules for abnormal ground conditions in golf?

Rule 25: Abnormal Ground Conditions, Embedded Ball, Wrong Putting Green 1 25-1. Abnormal Ground Conditions. Interference by an abnormal ground condition occurs when a ball lies in or touches the condition or when the condition interferes with the player’s stance or ... 2 25-2. Embedded Ball. ... 3 25-3. Wrong Putting Green. ...

What is interference by a wrong putting green?

Interference by a wrong putting green occurs when a ball is on the wrong putting green. Interference to a player’s stance or the area of his intended swing is not, of itself, interference under this Rule. b.

What are the rules for dropping a ball in golf?

The player must play the ball as it lies (unless prohibited by Local Rule) or proceed under Rule 26-1 . Note 2: If a ball to be dropped or placed under this Rule is not immediately recoverable, another ball may be substituted.

image

What happens if a spectator takes a golf ball?

Rule 9.6 says “If it is known or virtually certain that an outside influence lifted or moved your ball there is no penalty. The ball must be replaced on its original spot (which if not known must be estimated).”

What happens if a bird takes your golf ball?

According to Rule 18-1, when a ball has been moved by an outside agency, you have to replace it at the spot where it was picked up. For you, that means back in the rough. If you don't know exactly where the bird grabbed your ball, you can approximate it (Rule 20-3c). Either way, there is no penalty.

What are two stroke penalties in golf?

A golfer can be penalized two strokes if he interferes with another player's shot by hitting the ball or causing something else, such as a club or bag, to hit the ball.

What happens if a golfer accidentally makes contact when addressing the ball?

It only becomes a ball in play once a stroke is made. When the practice swing accidentally hits the ball, you are considered to have not made a stroke. Thus, the golf rules simply allow you to re-tee the moved ball (or replace it with another one) without penalty. This is covered under Rule 6.2b(5) and 6.2b(6).

Has anyone ever hit an ostrich in golf?

Ostriches almost never happen in golf. In fact, obtaining a score of five-under par has never happened in a professional golf match. This feat is so rare that there are no recorded instances of it actually happening.

Is an animal an outside influence in golf?

If a player's ball in motion accidentally hits any person or outside influence, the ball must be played as it lies, except in two situations: Exception 1 – When Ball Played from Anywhere Except Putting Green Comes to Rest on Any Person, Animal or Moving Outside Influence: The player must not play the ball as it lies.

Do you get relief from a fence in golf?

Interference from Boundary Objects I have interference from an out of bounds fence, stake or wall – what are my options? A. You do not get free relief from objects that define or mark the course boundary.

Does a whiff count as a stroke in golf?

If the golfer was trying to hit the ball, then, yes, it's a stroke. However, as noted above, if the golfer missed the ball intentionally, that "whiff" is not a stroke.

Does a missed swing count as a stroke in golf?

Under the Rules of Golf, any stroke in which you intend to hit the ball counts. It doesn't matter how far the ball goes. If you swing and miss, and you were trying to hit the ball, then it counts. If you take another swing at it, then you're counting your next stroke after the whiff.

Is it a penalty if ball moves when addressing it?

Generally, you will still be penalized if you move your ball or accidentally cause it to move. However, exceptions have been made in the new Rules for some of the most common times when a ball is accidentally moved during a round.

Can you touch your golf ball on the fairway?

Here's how lift, clean and place works (typically): If a golfer is hitting their current shot from a lie in the fairway of the hole they're playing, then they're able to pick up the golf ball (after first marking the original spot with a tee or other marker), clean off the golf ball, then put it back by placing it in a ...

Does an air shot on the tee count?

An air shot is not imposed as a penalty for a tee shot as already mentioned. No matter how many times a player swings, if the club does not touch the ball, it is not considered a stroke. However, when the ball moves with an air shot, it counts as one stroke.

Can a crow pick up a golf ball?

Golfers have been crowing for some time about golf balls going missing at Charlestown Golf Club. Charlestown Golf Club captain Dave Hartney said crows had been pinching golf balls from the club for years.

Why do crows take yellow golf balls?

A spokesperson said: 'Crows will take the eggs of other birds, so if they see a golf ball they may consider it to be an egg and steal it.

What is the comment under Rule 3.15?

As is often the case in baseball’s rules, the comment under the rule shows the broad scope of the umpire’s power. The “umpire’s judgment” may rule the batter out on interference and place runners where the umpire feels appropriate. That is similar to rule 3.15, which is referenced in the comment for 3.16. (3.15 covers those persons allowed on the field, such as policemen and base coaches.)

What was the bad news for Konerko and the White Sox?

The bad news for Konerko and the White Sox is that Culbreth’s judgment on interference knows no end. He had complete authority to score the runner once the fan interfered. The good news for Konerko and the White Sox came after the big first baseman hit a homer in the bottom of the ninth to draw his team within a run.

What happens if the ball is dead at the time of the call?

Umpire decides that because of the distance the ball was hit, the runner on third base would have scored after the catch if the fielder had caught the ball which was interfered with , therefore , the runner is permitted to score.

When was spectator interference first addressed in MLB?

MLB first addressed spectator interference in the 1954 edition of the rulebook, deciding then that interference fell under the umpire’s judgment of what would have likely happened had the situation played out normally. The penalty of a dead ball is clear in the wording within the definition of rule 3.16. However, actions that constitute interference are not so obvious. Luckily, MLB solved that with a lengthy comment under the rule which clarifies what does (and does not) call for interference, while also providing a specific example of the umpire’s power to place (and even plate) runners.

Where in the umpire's judgment would have been had the interference not occurred?

Batter and runners shall be placed where in the umpire’s judgment they would have been had the interference not occurred. No interference shall be allowed when a fielder reaches over a fence, railing, rope or into a stand to catch a ball. He does so at his own risk.

Who ruled that the runner on first would have scored had the fan left the ball alone?

Third base umpire Fieldin Culbreth ruled that the runner on first would have scored had the fan left the ball alone. He sent that runner ( Jack Wilson) home, and Seattle suddenly held a 4-2 lead. Ozzie Guillen’s profanity-filled objection to the ruling led to his ejection from the game. Guillen wasn’t the only one upset with Culbreth’s ruling. After the game, Sox first baseman Paul Konerko said, “…on a play like that, where does [Culbreth’s] judgment end?”

Who lost his mind in the game of the ball?

Bartman made contact with the ball as it fell, and left fielder Moises Alou lost his mind when he couldn’t make the catch. Alou was apparently equal parts upset with the fans, and acting in hopes of earning an interference call from umpires with his body language.

Why did Corine Remande leave Le Golf National?

Ryder Cup spectator Corine Remande left Le Golf National last week with permanent vision loss in her right eye after Brooks Koepka’s errant tee shot on the par-4 6th hole on Friday morning struck her in the head . After being released from the hospital, Remande, 49, said that she had planned to sue the event organizers because “officials did not shout any warning as the player’s ball went into the crowd.”

What happened to fans at the 2016 Ryder Cup?

A fan at the 2016 Ryder Cup tends to an injury inflicted by a stray tee shot.

How would a court apply the same standard to a golf course?

The court would apply the same standard to a golf course by assessing whether or not the club has provided both safe standing areas for spectators and reasonable warning for fans of the risks if they choose to stand in another location.

What is the baseball rule?

What has been dubbed “the baseball rule” dictates that stadium operators have an obligation to provide safe seats to fans and alert them of the dangers. If fans choose to spectate from a seating area that is not considered safe, they are accepting an assumed risk.

Who said golfers could be found liable if they deliberately fire a shot into a crowd?

Smilow said the only way a golfer could be found liable if he or she were to deliberately fire a shot into a crowd.

Can a golfer be held liable for hitting the ball?

Making a case against the golfer who hit the ball is an even tougher legal road to hoe. “The golfer cannot be held liable because they cannot control the ball,” Smilow said. “No golfer has a perfect shot every time. Even Ben Hogan had plenty of bad shots.

Who hit a fan in the neck?

Remande isn’t the first fan to get plunked at a professional event. Far from it. Tiger Woods hit a fan in the neck with his opening tee shot at the 2010 Memorial. Pat Perez beaned not one but two spectators in a single round at the 2017 Genesis Open, prompting Shane Lowry to tweet, “What’s it going to take for players to start shouting fore?” After Ernie Els’s opening tee shot at the 2014 British Open struck a fan in the face, he was so rattled that he went on to shoot a 79. “I was trying to hit it left,” he said, “and should have told the starters to move the people back on the left side, but I didn’t do that.”

What happens if a golf ball lies on a wrong putting green?

If a player’s ball lies on a wrong putting green, he must not play the ball as it lies. He must take relief, without penalty, as follows: The player must lift the ball and drop it within one club-length of and not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief. The nearest point of relief must not be in a hazard or on a putting green.

What is relief in golf?

(i) Through the Green: If the ball lies through the green, the player must lift the ball and drop it, without penalty, within one club-length of and not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief. The nearest point of relief must not be in a hazard or on a putting green.

What is interference in putting green?

Interference by a wrong putting green occurs when a ball is on the wrong putting green. Interference to a player’s stance or the area of his intended swing is not, of itself, interference under this Rule. b. Relief. If a player’s ball lies on a wrong putting green, he must not play the ball as it lies.

What is the rule for a ball in a water hazard?

Note 1: If a ball is in a water hazard (including a lateral water hazard), the player is not entitled to relief, without penalty, from interference by an abnormal ground condition. The player must play the ball as it lies (unless prohibited by Local Rule) or proceed under Rule 26-1 . Note 2: If a ball to be dropped or placed under this Rule is not ...

When dropping the ball within one club-length of the nearest point of relief, must the ball be struck?

When dropping the ball within one club-length of the nearest point of relief, the ball must first strike a part of the course at a spot that avoids interference by the wrong putting green and is not in a hazard and not on a putting green. The ball may be cleaned when lifted under this Rule.

What is the rule for a player to play in an abnormal ground condition?

In order to apply this Rule, it must be known or virtually certain that the ball is in the abnormal ground condition. In the absence of such knowledge or certainty, the player must proceed under Rule 27-1 . If it is known or virtually certain that a ball that has not been found is in an abnormal ground condition, ...

Can you take relief under the Rule of Golf?

Exception: A player may not take relief under this Rule if (a) interference by anything other than an abnormal ground condition makes the stroke clearly impracticable or (b) interference by an abnormal ground condition would occur only through use of a clearly unreasonable stroke or an unnecessarily abnormal stance, swing or direction of play.

What happens if you drop the ball outside the bunker?

If you drop outside the bunker, you receive a one-stroke penalty.

What is the rule for golf balls on the golf course?

What do you do? These objects are considered obstructions (Rule 24), and you're entitled to relief without penalty if your ball, stance or swing is interfered with by an obstruction.

Can you move a yardage post?

Some yardage posts, for example, can easily be moved. If you can move the obstruction, and your ball isn't touching it, move the object and play on. If your ball moves specifically because of the movement of the obstruction, you can replace the ball without penalty.

Why does the umpire call the batter out?

Umpire calls the batter out for spectator interference. Ball is dead at the time of the call. Umpire decides that because of the distance the ball was hit, the runner on third base would have scored after the catch if the fielder had caught the ball which was interfered with , therefore, the runner is permitted to score.

What does the umpire look like in the picture?

Image 2: Far right photo, looks like a battle between the outfielder and the fan to the left, with his arms extended.

What is the batsman called out for?

However, should a spectator reach out on the playing field side of such fence, railing or rope, and plainly prevent the fielder from catching the ball, then the batsman should be called out for the spectator's interference. fo ul). Spectator clearly interferes with the outfielder attempting to catch the fly ball.

Where in the umpire's judgment would have been had the interference not occurred?

Batter and runners shall be placed where in the umpire's judgment they would have been had the interference not occurred. No interference shall be allowed when a fielder reaches over a fence, railing, rope or into a stand to catch a ball. He does so at his own risk.

Do spectators get escorted out of the field?

Spectators that go on the field of play are escorted out regardless of obstructing a play or not.

What to do if you catch an errant toss?

If you happen to catch an errant toss from a player or coach, give it to the nearest kid. You didn't catch the ball off the bat. You didn't even find a foul ball. You were just the idiot who happened to be in the way of a kid the player probably tried to throw it to in the first place.

What is the rule of baseball?

This rule is the simplest rule of fan etiquette in all of baseball: If you catch the ball, you get to keep the ball. If a ball comes flying into the stands down the line, or looping into the first row of the upper deck and you catch it, you keep that ball. Look, I have two kids.

Why do kids bring a glove?

Besides, I was a kid. Bringing a glove gave me something to play with and a build in place to hold my snacks.

What is the rule of foul territory?

If you are in foul territory, it is your responsibility to watch the umpire before touching a ball. Just because a ball is in foul territory when it gets to you does not mean the ball wasn't fair when it crossed the base.

What happens if you catch a milestone ball?

If you catch a milestone ball (or scrounge for it on the ground after the people next to you drop it) then you have , by law, every right to keep that ball. If you want to sell it for an easy buck, nobody should begrudge you of that.

Why do they ask if you are willing to sit in an exit row of a plane?

Do you know why they ask if you are willing to sit in an exit row of a plane? Because some people panic in certain situations . The same rules should apply for the first row in a baseball game. If you cannot keep your composure when a ball is coming right at you, go sit in the back next to the toilet.

Do you get applause for picking up a ball that rolled under your seat?

Have you seen these people at the game who find a ball on the ground after it deflected off the hands of another fan and hold it up like they did something special? You do not get applause for bending over and picking up a ball that rolled under your seat.

How to close a modal window?

This is a modal window. This modal can be closed by pressing the Escape key or activating the close button.

What is the rule for a ball that is still in the fairway?

If your ball is resting still in the fairway when an animal decides to mess with it, you proceed under Rule 9.6 and replace the ball on its original spot (if you move the ball yourself, you will get penalized — cc: Billy Mayfair ). The rules are slightly different if your ball is in motion when it comes into contact with an animal, ...

When is the Nedbank Golf Challenge 2019?

November 14, 2019. A pair of mongooses mess with a pro's golf ball during the Nedbank Golf Challenge in South Africa. @europeantour. The European Tour is in Sun City this week for the Nedbank Golf Challenge. Every year at the Nedbank the pros are treated not only to a scenic course, but also close encounters with the spectacular wildlife ...

What are the rules for golfing with leaves?

Instruction. Rules you can use: The 9 rules every golfer needs to know for dealing with leaves on the course. One other potential scenario, albeit a far more unlikely one, is if your ball comes to rest on or against an animal. If this happens to you, and your ball is resting against the tail of a mongoose or in the mouth of a Florida gator, ...

What is the rule for playing the ball as it lies?

In this scenario, you simply play the ball as it lies, as directed by Rule 11.1. There are two exceptions to this rule. If you’re on the putting green and your ball in motion is deflected ...

Can you pet a gator on a golf course?

Now you should have all the information you need to contend with animals on the golf course. But remember, these rules only protect your score, they won’t protect your person. So be mindful of the wildlife on the courses you play, and if you feel the urge to pet a gator, or a mongoose for that matter, just say no and pet your headcover instead.

Can you take relief from a golf ball if it is on an animal?

If your ball isn’t resting on an animal, but the creature is close by, and the animal has big teeth and/or venomous fangs, you are still allowed to take free relief under the “dangerous animal condition” exception. Now you should have all the information you need to contend with animals on the golf course .

image
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9